Participate in upcoming #DirectedbyWomen Twitter chats

Women directors from the Twitter chat at work

Women directors from the Twitter chat at work

agnès films is proud to support the #DirectedbyWomen Worldwide Film Viewing Party.  As a part of this exciting month-long event, we are thrilled to announce several Twitter chats this month with several of today’s successful women directors. Everyone is welcome and encouraged to participate in the chats by using the hashtag #afsep.

Find complete details about the chats below.

Tuesday, September 13 – Women Television Directors | 4 p.m. EDT | 1 p.m. PDT | 21:00 BST

Moderated by Barbara Ann O’Leary

Lily Mariye | @lilymariye

First gig: Dancing and singing with Dolly Parton in The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas. Longest gig: 15 seasons acting on ER. Director: television (Nashville, Just Add Magic) and feature film (Model Minority).

Rachel Talalay | @ rtalalay

Director of Sherlock, Doctor Who, Tank Girl, Super Girl, The Flash, Freddy’s Dead: The Final Nightmare and On The Farm, currently screening at festivals. Producer of Hairspray, Cry Baby, Nightmare on Elm Street series.

 

Wednesday, September 14 – Women Documentary Directors | 1 p.m. EDT | 10 a.m. PDT | 18:00 BST

Moderated by Alexandra Hidalgo

Zeinabu irene Davis | @ZSpiritrebel

Documentary and fiction independent filmmaker and communication professor at University of California, San Diego. Spirits of Rebellion, her latest documentary, is currently on the festival circuit.

Alison Klayman | @aliklay

Director whose documentary Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry was shortlisted for the Oscars. Her new film on Carmen Herrera, The 100 Years Show, comes out on Netflix this month.

Christine Turner | @PeraltaPictures

Independent filmmaker (Homegoings, You Can Go) and documentary producer for broadcast (Women of Honor, Blackout) and web (Where I Am Going).

 

Monday, September 19 – Women Fiction Film Directors | 1 p.m. EDT | 10 a.m. PDT | 18:00 BST

Moderated by Danielle Winston

Jennifer Corcoran | @SingstotheStars

Co-producer, Circeo Films. Writer/director of She Sings to the Stars, the first in a cycle of narrative features about women. The second, Now and also Now is in development.

Li Lu | @tianwsfilm

Writer/director of award-winning There Is a New World Somewhere. Currently developing Bury Me on Gold Mountain. Also directs commercials, music videos, new Media.

Leah Yananton | @LeahYananton

Writer, director and producer of Surviving Me: The Nine Circles of Sophie. Actor in Steven Spielberg’s War of the Worlds, The Burial, and Surviving Me.

 

Friday, September 23 – Ondi Timoner| 3 p.m. EDT | 12 p.m. PDT | 20:00 BST

Moderated by Alexandra Hidalgo

Ondi Timoner | @onditimoner

Ondi Timoner loves telling suspenseful stories about mavericks to inspire free thought. Her last film about comedian Russell Brand is Brand: A Second Coming, and her next project is a series called Jungletown on Viceland.

 

Monday, September 26 – Women Experimental Filmmakers | 3 p.m. EDT | 12 p.m. PDT | 20:00 BST

Moderated by Barbara Ann O’Leary

Denah Johnston | @da_johnston

Filmmaker, programmer, writer. Chair of San Francisco City College Cinema Department.

Lynne Sachs | @LynneSachs1

Lynne makes experimental documentaries, writes poems, teaches, and works on political issues, like trying to elect the first woman president of the United States.